HE WHO SOWS WAN, WILL REAP SD-WAN

Walterscheid delivers innovations that are considered milestones in agricultural technology. The Walterscheid engineers achieve their targets to enable an efficient, convenient and secure operation not only by themeselves, but also with NTS and Cisco SD-WAN.

At minimum distance and at eye level: IT director Christian Mutschlechner and NTS systems engineer Manuel Lanz

The 101-year old company Walterscheid, a part of the international Walterscheid Powertrain Group, is the world’s leading supplier of agricultural powertrain and tractor attachment systems. For a long time the company had been looking for an implementation partner in the field of network technology. This was not an easy challenge: it had to be a partner that would be able to support Walterscheid during the global roll-out of the network projects, but it was equally important that the partner had a local presence and that projects could be planned locally. “Today, after years of collaboration, we are able to say that we have found that NTS is the ideal partner which is technically highly competent and we can rely on NTS during project realization in every aspect”, explains Christian Mutschlechner, IT Director at Walterscheid.

„The performance is the achilles’ heel of many networks.“

Christian Mutschlechner, IT Director, Walterscheid

The linkage of the Microsoft Cloud to the Walterscheid corporate network was one of the first key tasks for NTS. After due consideration, SD-WAN (Software-Defined Wide Area Network) was chosen for the site network. A brief explanation: Wide Area Network (WAN) is a computer network that stretches over a large geographical area compared to LAN. The appeal of SD-WAN is based on the fact that several physical WAN connections are combined in a logical network. Thus, a priorization of the data traffic is made possible.

The switch to a software defined WAN-architecture provides many benefits especially for decentralized businesses with several locations that are geographically far apart as in the case of Walterscheid, with 6 production sites and 22 smaller service locations. Some of the benefits are an increased redundancy, an enhanced performance and a reduction of the complexity of the network control – just to name a few.

100% INDEPENDENT OF THE INTERNET SERVICE PROVIDER

Thanks for NTS, respectively Cisco being the market leader, an efficient, intelligent and flexible solution; with the decisive technical advantage of being completely independent from the internet service provider was successfully implemented. Thus, the control of the WANs was entirely brought back into the company. This increases the flexibility for future adaptions. The continuously increased amount of business critical, cloud based applications and the demands on corporate WANs are increasingly challenging for any corporate IT – challenges that NTS gladly take on.

FACT BOX

  • Founded in 1919 by Jean Walterscheid
  • Since the beginning headquartered in Lohmar (near Cologne)
  • Walterscheid GmbH is world market leader for agricultural and harvesting technology
  • Walterscheid GmbH is a part of the Walterscheid Powertrain Group with 2,200 employees
Franz Lammer
Head of Marketing & Communication
27.07.2020

Similar topics

WER WAN SÄT, WIRD SD-WAN ERNTEN

Walterscheid liefert regelmäßig Innovationen, die als Meilensteine in der Landtechnik gelten. Das Ziel, effizientes, komfortables und sicheres Arbeiten zu ermöglichen, erreichen aber nicht nur die Ingenieure von Walterscheid, sondern auch NTS mit dem Cisco SD-WAN.

Auf Mindestabstand und Augenhöhe: IT Direktor Christian Mutschlechner und NTS Systems Engineer Manuel Lanz

Das 101-jährige Unternehmen Walterscheid, Teil der internationalen Walterscheid Powertrain Group, ist der weltweit führende Anbieter für landtechnische Antriebs- sowie Traktoranbau-Systeme. Lange hat das Unternehmen nach einem Implementierungspartner im Bereich Netzwerktechnologie gesucht. Die Herausforderungen waren nicht zu gering: Es sollte ein Partner sein, der einerseits imstande war, Walterscheid bei den globalen Rollouts der Netzwerkprojekte zu unterstützen, andererseits war es aber auch wichtig, dass der Partner lokal präsent war und dass Projekte vor Ort geplant werden konnten. „Jetzt, einige Jahre später, können wir sagen, dass wir mit NTS den idealen, fachlich äußerst kompetenten Partner gefunden haben, auf den wir uns bei der Projektumsetzung in jeder Hinsicht verlassen können“, erklärt Christian Mutschlechner, IT-Direktor bei Walterscheid.

„Die Achillesferse vieler Netzwerke ist die Performance.“

Christian Mutschlechner, IT-Direktor, Walterscheid

Eine der ersten Hauptaufgaben für NTS war die Anbindung der Microsoft Cloud an das Walterscheid Firmennetzwerk. Nach reichlicher Überlegung setzte man bei der Standortvernetzung auf SD-WAN (Software-Defined Wide Area Network). Kurze Erklärung: Ein Wide Area Network (WAN) ist ein Rechnernetz, das sich im Unterschied zu einem LAN über einen sehr großen geografischen Bereich erstreckt. Die Attraktivität von SD-WAN beruht nun auf der Tatsache, dass mehrere physische WAN-Verbindungen in einem logischen Netzwerk zusammengefasst werden und damit eine Priorisierung des Datenverkehrs ermöglicht wird.

Gerade für dezentrale Unternehmen mit mehreren, weit voneinander entfernten Standorten – wie es bei Walterscheid mit 6 Produktions- und 22 Servicestandorten der Fall ist – bringt die Umstellung auf eine softwaredefinierte WAN-Architektur viele Vorteile. Eine gesteigerte Redundanz, die Verbesserung der Performance und auch eine Reduktion der Komplexität in der Netzwerk-Steuerung sind dabei nur einige davon.

100% UNABHÄNGIG VOM INTERNET-SERVICE-PROVIDER

Dank NTS bzw. Cisco als Marktführer in diesem Bereich konnte eine effiziente, intelligente und flexible Lösung problemlos umgesetzt werden, mit dem entscheidenden technischen Vorteil der gänzlichen Unabhängigkeit vom Internet-Service-Provider. Die Kontrolle des WANs wurde dabei zur Gänze zurück ins Unternehmen geholt, was auch die Flexibilität für zukünftige Anpassungen erhöht. Denn die fortwährend steigende Anzahl geschäftskritischer, cloudbasierter Anwendungen und die Anforderungen an Corporate WANs fordern jede Unternehmens-IT zunehmend heraus –Herausforderungen, die NTS gerne annimmt.

FACT BOX

  • 1919 von Jean Walterscheid gegründet
  • Firmensitz seit Beginn in Lohmar (bei Köln)
  • Walterscheid GmbH ist Weltmarktführer für Ernte- und Landwirtschaftstechnik
  • Walterscheid GmbH ist Teil der Walterscheid Powertrain Group mit 2200 MitarbeiterInnen
Franz Lammer
Head of Marketing & Communication
am 23.07.2020

Zum Thema