INTELLIGENT AND SECURE NETWORK ARCHITECTURE WITH CISCO DNA

 

As the tallest buildings are built on solid foundations, the quality of hard and software form the basis of a powerful network. Based on this, NTS supports the global success of voestalpine on a technical level and has developed a sustainable, modern and software-oriented network architecture for the global active group.

automotive-components-linz

In its business segments, voestalpine is a global leading steel and technology group with a unique combination of materials and processing expertise. Voestalpine, which operates globally, has around 500 group companies and locations on all five continents. With its top-quality products and system solutions, it is a leading partner to the automotive and consumer goods industries as well as the aerospace and oil & gas industries, and is also the world market leader in railway systems, tool steel, and special sections.

One can safeguard the future as an international player in demanding segments only with the right technology and the best partners. For this reason, the IT service provider NTS has been chosen for the re-design and the modernization of the network infrastructure in Austria, Germany and the Netherlands.

“The use of new network technologies is opening up completely new, agile and efficient methods in the areas of network management and troubleshooting. The cooperative guidance offered by NTS has showed us ways to use these new tools optimally and to utilize the new possibilities in an unprecedented visibility for the benefit of our users. Thus, the vision of a proactively managed network became much more real by this big step.”

Stefan Pöchtrager, enterprise architect IT infrastructure, voestalpine
Gernot Höller, network solution architect, voestalpine

Fit for the digitalization with Cisco Catalyst 9000

All in all, 3,500 network components of the current Cisco Catalyst series will be exchanged in Austria, Germany and the Netherlands in a multi-country, three-year project. Thereby, the special emphasis was on mobility, Cloud, IoT and security – from access all the way to core. The new LAN infrastructure is not only fulfilling the high standards of voestalpine, but it is also ideally prepared for future requirements.

Thanks to the integrated intelligence the new network can manage without the conventional configuration works. Thereby, the machine learning functionality ensures a contextual automation that is capable itself of learning as well as an intuitive administration. Thus, routine tasks can be accelerated significantly.

voestapline

  • Presence in 50 countries on all five continents
  • 500 group companies and locations
  • 49,000 employees worldwide
  • Revenue FY 2019/20 € 12.7 billion
  • Result € 1.2 billion EBITDA

Fact Box:

  • 3500 Cisco catalyst 9300
  • Intent based networking
  • Basis for software defined access
  • Cisco DNA center
  • Network data platform for ML supported machine learning data analysis
  • Basis for analysis of crypto data streams

Photo credits: voestalpine/provided

Intelligente und sichere Netzwerkarchitektur mit Cisco DNA

 

So wie ein stabiles Fundament die höchsten Gebäude trägt, ist die Qualität der Hard- und Software Grundlage für ein leistungsfähiges Netzwerk. NTS unterstützt auf dieser Basis den globalen Erfolg der voestalpine auf technischer Ebene und entwickelte eine zukunftssichere, moderne und softwareorientierte Netzwerk-Architektur für das global tätige Unternehmen.

automotive-components-linz

Die voestalpine ist ein in seinen Geschäftsbereichen weltweit führender Stahl- und Technologiekonzern mit kombinierter Werkstoff- und Verarbeitungskompetenz. Die global tätige Unternehmensgruppe verfügt über rund 500 Konzerngesellschaften und -standorte auf allen fünf Kontinenten. Mit qualitativ höchstwertigen Produkt- und Systemlösungen zählt die voestalpine zu den führenden Partnern der Automobil- und Hausgeräteindustrie sowie der Luftfahrt- und Öl- & Gasindustrie und ist darüber hinaus Weltmarktführer bei Bahninfrastruktursystemen, bei Werkzeugstahl und Spezialprofilen.

Aber nur mit der richtigen Technologie und den besten Partnern sichert man die Zukunft als internationaler Player in anspruchsvollen Segmenten. Und so fiel bei der Neuauslegung und Modernisierung der Netzwerkinfrastruktur in Österreich, Deutschland und den Niederlanden die Wahl auf den IT-Dienstleister NTS.

„Der Einsatz der neuen Netzwerk-Technologien eröffnet völlig neue, agile und effiziente Wege im Netzwerk-Management und Troubleshooting. Die partnerschaftliche Beratung seitens NTS zeigte uns Wege, die neuen Tools optimal zu nutzen und die neuen Möglichkeiten einer nie dagewesenen Visibilität zum Vorteil unserer User nutzen zu können. Die Vision eines proaktiv gesteuerten Netzwerks ist dadurch einen großen Schritt realer geworden.“

Stefan Pöchtrager, Enterprise Architekt IT Infrastruktur, voestalpine
Gernot Höller, Network Solution Architekt, voestalpine

Mit Cisco Catalyst 9000 fit für die Digitalisierung

In einem länderübergreifenden Drei-Jahres-Projekt werden insgesamt 3500 Netzwerkkomponenten der aktuellen Cisco Catalyst Serien in Österreich, Deutschland und den Niederlanden getauscht. Vom Access bis hin zum Core lag der Fokus dabei auf Mobilität, Cloud, IoT und Sicherheit. Die neue LAN-Infrastruktur kann so die hohen Anforderungen der voestalpine nicht nur erfüllen, sondern ist auch für künftige Anforderungen bestens gerüstet.

Dank integrierter Intelligenz kommt das neue Netzwerk weitgehend ohne klassische Konfigurationsarbeit aus. Die Machine-Learning-Funktionalität sorgt dabei für kontextbezogene, selbstlernfähige Automation, wie auch intuitive Administration und Routineaufgaben können deutlich beschleunigt werden.

Fakten voestapline

  • 50 Länder auf allen fünf Kontinenten
  • 500 Konzerngesellschaften und -standorte
  • 49.000 Mitarbeiter weltweit
  • GJ 2019/20 Umsatz Euro 12,7 MRD.
  • GJ 2019/20 operatives Ergebnis Euro 1,2 MRD. EBITDA

Produkte von NTS im Einsatz 

  • 3500 Cisco Catalyst 9300
  • Intent-based Networking
  • Grundlage für Software-Defined Access
  • Cisco DNA Center
  • Network Data Platform für ML-gestützte Machine Learning Datenanalyse
  • Basis für Analyse der Crypto-Datenströme

Fotocredits: voestalpine/bereitgestellt