NTS Project Management

The structured super service

NTS supports its customers with the consulting service NTS Project Management from the placement of the order all the way to the completion of the project. With IT projects in particular, it is noticeable that the quality standard is extremely high, and that time is a critical element. Michael Milla, NTS Project Manager Professional Lead shares exciting insights into the world of project management at NTS in the following interview.

WHEN DOES PROJECT MANAGEMENT FROM NTS MAKE SENSE?

MM: Project management is always a certain part of the overhead. That’s why we are strongly utilizing this service. The service will always be adapted to the particular project environment in order to ensure the optimum benefit. However, we always recommend to our customers to go with NTS Project Management. Naturally, the customer would want an overall solution – particularly when different technologies are employed. It is especially important to define a procedure that takes all project areas into account. This is where our NTS project managers will take over and they will coordinate the necessary course of action.

WHICH SERVICES CAN BE OBTAINED FROM THE NTS PROJECT MANAGEMENT?

MM: NTS Project Management supports from the placement of the order all the way to the completion of the project. We offer this consulting service in two alternatives. PM.start is the so-called entry-level service of the project management and it covers only the project initiation. When choosing the PM.full alternative, the NTS project manager accompanies the project from the implementation all the way to the completion. Essentially, projects are divided into 3 sections. These are the initiation, the implementation and the completion.

WHY NTS PROJECT MANAGEMENT?
IN A NUTSHELL: IT WORKS MUCH BETTER!

WHICH ADVANTAGES DOES NTS PROJECT MANAGEMENT BRING TO THE CUSTOMER?

MM: In a nutshell: it works much better. Due to the continuous digitalization, our systems are by now the basis for extremely business critical services. If the corresponding core switch in a hospital malfunctions, all its telephones will be down. Or let’s assume for instance that at a different customer the firewall fails. It will then not be possible for the customer to communicate with their customers anymore. Our engineers are technologically capable of working in such environments. However, it becomes more and more important for the customer to precisely know what happens when. It is likewise important for our customers to find out where there are risks and where planned shutdowns may occur – all under the header of maintenance windows.

With the help of the NTS Project Management, the entire project team will be aligned with the project target and a schedule will be compiled that will lead through the project towards the defined target. This central theme provides the customer as well as the entire project team with the confidence that NTS is technologically and organizationally capable to carry out the project. This reassurance brings calmness into the project environment. And it is this calmness that in turn allows for professional work on the systems, respectively on the solution that is being implemented.

WHICH CHALLENGES ARE YOU FACED WITH AS A PROJECT MANAGER?

MM: Often there are challenges with communication. Collaboration in the project is very important. It is even more important when a project involves several technologies. In such a project, several engineers are employed. A project manager must always keep an overview – especially when dealing with projects with several technologies. Therefore, regular status meetings are non-negotiable. These meetings will provide us with the opportunity to look at the project, to evaluate it and to introduce necessary adaptions in the planning phase. We consider the NTS Project Management an important part of the NTS “Relax, We Care” concept as the customer should have had a positive project experience with NTS at the end of the project.

WHICH PROJECTS COULD BE SUCCESSFULLY IMPLEMENTED SO FAR?

MM: NTS is able to fall back on a series of successful projects and it has already successfully supported renowned customers such as KnappStyria Marketing Services or Barmherzigen Brüder.

NTS Project Management

Das organisierte Super Service

Mit der Consultingleistung NTS Project Management unterstützt NTS seine Kunden von der Auftragserteilung bis hin zum Projektabschluss. Gerade bei IT-Projekten ist der qualitative Anspruch sehr hoch und der Zeitfaktor ein kritisches Element. Im folgenden Interview gibt uns Michael Milla, Project Manager Professional Lead bei NTS, spannende Einblicke in die Welt des Projektmanagements bei NTS.

Wann macht das Projektmanagement mit NTS Sinn?

MM: Projektmanagement ist immer ein gewisser Overhead. Aus diesem Grund setzen wir dieses Service sehr, an die jeweiligen Projektumgebung angepasst, ein, damit ein optimaler Nutzen gewährleistet wird. Wir raten unseren Kunden aber immer dazu, unser NTS Project Management zu nutzen. Der Kunde will naturgemäß eine Gesamtlösung und ganz speziell dann, wenn unterschiedliche Technologien zum Einsatz kommen. Es ist besonders wichtig, dass ein Vorgehen definiert wird, das alle Projektbereiche berücksichtigt. Da übernehmen dann unsere NTS Projektmanager das Steuer und stimmen den notwendigen Verlauf ab.

Welche Leistungen können beim NTS Project Management bezogen werden?

MM: Das NTS Project Management unterstützt von der Auftragserteilung bis hin zum Projektabschluss. Diese Consultingleistung bieten wir in zwei Varianten an. PM.start ist das sogenannte Einsteiger Service im Projektmanagement und umfasst nur die Projektinitiierung. Bei PM.full begleitet der NTS Projektmanager das Projekt von der Durchführung bis hin zum Abschluss. Im wesentlichen werden Projekte in 3 Phasen unterteilt. Nämlich in die Initiierung, die Durchführung und den Abschluss.

Warum NTS Project Management? Kurz gesagt, es läuft besser!

Welche Vorteile hat das NTS Project Management für Kunden?

MM: Kurz gesagt, es läuft besser. Durch die fortlaufende Digitalisierung sind unsere Systeme mittlerweile die Basis für sehr unternehmenskritische Dienste. Wenn in einem Krankenhaus der entsprechende Core-Switch ausfällt, funktioniert dort kein Telefon mehr. Fällt bei einem anderen Kunden beispielsweise eine Firewall aus, ist es dem Kunden nicht mehr möglich mit seinen Kunden zu kommunizieren. Unsere Engineers sind technologisch in der Lage in solchen Umgebungen zu arbeiten. Allerdings wird es für Kunden immer wichtiger zu wissen, wann, was passiert. Auch wichtig ist für unsere Kunden zu erfahren, wo die Risiken sind und wo es zu geplanten Stillständen kommen wird, Stichwort Wartungsfenster.

Durch das NTS Project Management wird das gesamte Projektteam auf das Projektziel ausgerichtet und es wird ein Plan erstellt, der durch das Projekt zum definierten Ziel führt. Dieser rote Faden gibt dem Kunden und dem gesamten Projektteam die Gewissheit, dass NTS nicht nur technologisch, sondern auch organisatorisch in der Lage ist, das Projekt durchzuführen. Diese Gewissheit bringt Ruhe in die Projektumgebung. Und diese Ruhe gewährleistet wiederum ein professionelles Arbeiten an den Systemen bzw. der zu implementierenden Lösung.

 welchen Herausforderungen muss man sich als Projektmanager stellen?

MM: Herausforderungen liegen sehr oft in der Kommunikation. Die Zusammenarbeit im Projekt ist extrem wichtig. Noch wichtiger wird sie, wenn ein Projekt mehrere Technologien umfasst. Bei solchen Projekten kommen mehrere Engineers zum Einsatz. Ein Projektmanager muss – speziell in Projekten mit mehreren Technologien – stets den Überblick bewahren. Daher sind regelmäßige Statusmeeting ein Muss. Diese Meetings geben uns die Möglichkeit, das Projekt zu betrachten, zu bewerten und notwendige Anpassungen in der Planung einzuleiten. Wir sehen das NTS Project Management als wichtigen Teil des NTS „Relax, We Care“ Gedankens. Denn am Ende des Projektes soll der Kunde eine tolle Projekt-Erfahrung mit NTS gemacht haben.

Welche Projekte konnten bisher erfolgreich umgesetzt werden?

MM: NTS darf auf eine Reihe von gelungenen Projekten zurückgreifen und hat bereits namhafte Kunden wie Knapp, Styria Marketing Services oder die Barmherzigen Brüder erfolgreich begleitet.