Mathias Spörr, Engineering Manager defense, told us in an interview why NTS is placing great emphasis on defense services and how the two new products in the area of security are pretty much convincing!

WHICH THREATS ARE COMPANIES EXPOSED TO NOWADAYS?

In the last few years, IT security has gained tremendously in importance. It is not only the increasing number of security incidences but also the impact of possible damages that has become more extensive. In most cases of security incidences, there are perfectly detectable indications beforehand and we are able to assist our customers to detect these early enough so that they can be analyzed and finally removed.

A very good example for a current threat is ransomware. There were a lot of reports in the media, especially during the most recent couple of months, that large businesses such as Garmin, Maersk or BancoEstado were hit by ransomware attacks. NTS Vulnerability Management helps to significantly reduce the risks of such attacks as potential weaknesses are discovered early enough and can thus be removed.

HOW CAN A COMPANY PROTECT ITSELF WITHOUT KNOWING WHICH WEAKNESSES ARE PRESENT IN THE COMPANY-INTERNAL NETWORK? HOW CAN NTS HELP?

Before I leave the house, I make sure that all windows and doors are locked so that I do not provide an “easy” target to potential burglars. The same approach can be used in IT. Here it involves an early and a regular examination of risks in an IT infrastructure and thus a minimization of potential damages. The vulnerability management is viewed as an essential basic component during the CIS 20 controls, which is considered the gold standard for the consultation of security representatives.

NTS Vulnerability Management is part of the NTS defense services and it contributes to the reduction, respectively elimination of potential dangers. For us, vulnerability management is considered the entry point into the security topic as well. Thereby, weaknesses are identified continuously, they are categorized, and their potential dangers are pointed out in the spirit of a risk assessment. Independent NTS experts are responsible for design, structure, implementation and operation. It goes without saying that all this comes with regular reporting that is adapted to customer requirements.

FOR OUR CUSTOMERS, WE DON’T WANT A SECURITY SILO, BUT AN OPEN INFRASTRUCTURE!

WHAT IS THE NTS THREAT DETECTION SERVICE OFFERING AND WHAT IS THE DIFFERENCE TO THE NTS VULNERABILITY MANAGEMENT?

Well, the NTS Vulnerability Management is continuously identifying weaknesses and highlights their potential risks – it is considered a secure precaution tool to identify security gaps. We consider this service a good entry into a professional handling of the security management.

NTS Threat Detection Service | SIEM on the other hand, allows one to get a holistic view on IT security by collecting and analyzing reports and logfiles of different systems. Here, rules are defined and implemented as so-called use cases, in order to identify threat scenarios. These use cases detect suspicious behavior and they will be analyzed by specially trained security experts, the so-called NTS Defense Team. Thus, suspicious events or dangerous trends can be described in real time and a fast and reliable identification of security relevant events, respectively a reaction to these events is offered to the customer. A storage that is secure with regards to manipulation and revision helps to comply with legal requirements and with compliance guidelines.

NTS Defense Platform is the basis for it as it permits the NTS customer to have full access to its data due to the fact that it is drafted as an open and flexible system. We provide all necessary components from the hardware and the required licenses all the way to the operation.

NTS Threat Detection Service | SIEM

  • NTS managed service – comprehensive carefree package: fast identification of attackers and thus a minimizing of risks
  • Open infrastructure of the NTS defense platform; it is not a security silo
  • Know-how in the area of security and special expert knowledge of the NTS defense teams
  • Dedicated customer analyst for each customer
  • The customer can use the log data of the tools itself for applications beyond security, e.g. compliance regulations

NTS Vulnerability Management

  • Layout, design and implementation
  • Operation and operational responsibility
  • Periodic reporting – matched to the target group
  • Categorization and risk assessment of the discovered weaknesses
  • Regular customer meetings
  • Dedicated vulnerability manager

Mathias Spörr, Engineering Manager Defense, erzählt uns in einem Interview, warum Defense Services bei NTS gerade ganz groß geschrieben werden und wodurch die zwei neuen Produkte im Security Bereich überzeugen!

Welchen Bedrohung sind Unternehmen heutzutage ausgesetzt?

IT-Sicherheit hat in den letzten Jahren an großer Bedeutung gewonnen. Nicht nur die Anzahl der Security-Vorfälle ist gestiegen, sondern auch die Auswirkungen möglicher Schäden werden umfangreicher. Bei den meisten Sicherheitsvorfällen gibt es durchaus erkennbare Hinweise im Vorhinein und wir können unseren Kunden dabei helfen, diese frühzeitig zu erkennen, zu bewerten und letztlich auch zu beseitigen.

Ein gutes Beispiel für eine aktuelle Bedrohung ist Ransomware. Gerade in den letzten Monaten gab es viele Berichte in den Medien, dass unter anderem sehr große Unternehmen von Ransomware Attacken betroffen waren, wie beispielsweise Garmin, Maersk, oder BancoEstado. Mit dem NTS Vulnerability Management kann das Risiko solcher Attacken sehr stark verringert werden, da etwaige Schwachstellen rechtzeitig aufgedeckt und somit behoben werden.

Kann sich ein Unternehmen schützen, ohne zu wissen welche Schwachstellen im unternehmenseigenen Netzwerk vorhanden sind? Wie hilft NTS?

Bevor ich das Haus verlasse, stelle ich sicher, dass alle Fenster und Türen verschlossen sind und biete damit potentiellen Einbrechern keine “einfache” Angriffsfläche. Dieselbe Vorgehensweise kann man auf die IT übertragen. Das bedeutet hier eine rechtzeitige und regelmäßige Überprüfung der Risiken in einer IT Infrastruktur und somit eine Minimierung möglicher Schäden. Nicht umsonst wird Vulnerability Management bei den CIS 20 Controls, die als der Goldstandard für die Beratung von Sicherheitsbeauftragten gelten, als essentieller Basisbestandteil gesehen.

NTS Vulnerability Management gehört zu den Defense Services von NTS und trägt maßgeblich zur Reduktion, bzw. Eliminierung von Gefahrenpotentialen bei. Vulnerability Management gilt bei uns auch als der Einstieg in das Security Thema. Dabei werden Schwachstellen kontinuierlich identifiziert, kategorisiert und deren Gefahrenpotenziale, im Sinne einer Risikoeinschätzung, aufgezeigt. Dieser Prozess beinhaltet somit eine Erkennung und Bewertung der identifizierten Schwachstellen. Unabhängige Experten von NTS sind verantwortlich für Design, Aufbau, Implementierung und Betriebsführung. Regelmäßiges Reporting, abgestimmt an die Kundenbedürfnisse, versteht sich von selbst.

Wir wollen für unsere Kunden kein Security-Silo, stattdessen eine offene Infrastruktur!

Was bietet das Threat Detection Service von NTS und was ist der Unterschied zum NTS Vulnerability Management?

Das NTS Vulnerability Management identifiziert kontinuierlich Schwachstellen und zeigt deren Gefahrenpotenziale auf – gilt also als sicheres Vorsorge-Tool zur Erkennung von Sicherheitslücken. Wir sehen dieses Service als guten Einstieg in ein professionelles Handling des Security-Managements.

NTS Threat Detection Service | SIEM hingegen ermöglicht einen ganzheitlichen Blick auf die IT-Sicherheit, indem Meldungen und Logfiles verschiedener Systeme gesammelt und ausgewertet werden. Um Bedrohungsszenarien zu identifizieren, werden hier Regeln, sogenannte Use Cases, umgesetzt. Diese erkennen verdächtiges Verhalten und werden von speziell ausgebildeten Security Experten, dem NTS Defense Team, analysiert. Verdächtige Ereignisse oder gefährliche Trends lassen sich so in Echtzeit darstellen und bieten dem Kunden eine schnelle und zuverlässige Erkennung von verdächtigen Aktionen und auf diese kann entsprechend reagiert werden. Eine manipulations- und revisionssichere Speicherung hilft bei der Einhaltung von Gesetzesvorgaben und Compliance-Richtlinien.

Basis dafür ist die NTS Defense Platform, die als offenes und flexibles System konzipiert, NTS Kunden vollen Zugriff auf seine Daten garantiert. Wir stellen Ihnen, von der Hardware, über die Lizenzen, bis hin zur Betriebsführung, alle notwendigen Komponenten zur Verfügung.

NTS Threat Detection Service | SIEM

  • NTS Managed Service – Rundum-sorglos-Paket: Schnelles Erkennen von Angreifern und somit Gefahrenminimierung
  • Offene Infrastruktur der NTS Defense Platform; es ist kein Security Silo
  • Know-how im Bereich von Security und speziell des NTS Defense Teams
  • Dedizierter Kundenanalyst für jeden Kunden
  • Der Kunde kann die Logdaten des Tools selber nutzen für Anwendungen abseits von Security z.B. Compliance Vorschriften

NTS Vulnerability Management

  • Design, Aufbau und Implementierung
  • Betriebsführung und -verantwortung
  • Regelmäßiges Reporting – abgestimmt auf die Zielgruppe
  • Kategorisierung und Risiko-Abschätzung der entdeckten Schwachstellen
  • Regelmäßige Kundenmeetings
  • Dedizierter Vulnerability Manager