Dear Customers and Partners,

 

Lightweight Directory Access Protocol (LDAP) is a network protocol for the realization of queries and revisions in a distributed directory service. Microsoft Active Directory represents the best-known and most common LDAP implementation.

To allow for a faultless function of the LDAP protocol, it is essential that all involved systems are able to exchange data via Port 389 respectively, in case of LDAPS (LDAP over TLS), via Port 636.

For the second half of 2020, Microsoft is currently preparing a security update for their domain controllers that will switch the Active Directory service from LDAP to LDAPS. This will mark the end of unencrypted LDAP connections. Thereby it is the aim to fight vulnerabilities in the implementation of the Active Directory service. This helps for example, to be protected against so called “man-in-the-middle” attacks. During these attacks, an invader could potentially gain access to your systems.

Entirely in line with our motto “Relax, We Care”, we would like to proactively inform you now about this planned update. Furthermore, we will assist you during the inspection and switch of your systems in order to ensure unrestricted operations.

 

Below are examples of systems and services from the portfolio of NTS that are affected:

  • Unified communications services and products such as Cisco Jabber, Cisco Expressway, Cisco Meeting Server, Cisco Unified Communications Manager, Cisco Callmanager, NTW Server, Fax Server, Unity Server
  • Security services and products that are linked to the Active Directory via LDAP such as Cisco Identity Service Engine (ISE), Cisco e-mail and Web Security Appliance (ESA, WSA)
  • Firewalls and services with a direct link to the Active Directory for user inquiries such as Cisco Adaptive Security Appliance (ASA), Cisco Firepower, Cisco Anyconnect
  • VMWare VCenter with link into the Active Directory
  • Splunk

 

At this point it needs to be mentioned that all applications and systems that have not switched to LDAPS at the time of the patch, will not be able to establish a connection into the Active Directory via LDAP. This may lead to restrictions in the availability of your applications that depend on the connection to the Active Directory.

Therefore, NTS strongly recommends determining all applications and systems that are concerned. Furthermore, NTS proposes to switch from LDAP to LDAPS ahead of the release of the patch in the second half of 2020.

In addition, to the security update, Microsoft released in March a new update that implements additional audit events and group guidelines. This update makes sure that an optimal preparation takes place and it will implement the possibility to override the change of the patch via registry entry respectively as per group guideline as an alternative in case a switch to LDAPS is not possible.

 

In a nutshell, NTS recommends the following steps to ensure that all applications will be able to communicate with the Active Directory even after the patch:

  1. Activation and logging of all audit events from the March 2020 update on the domain controllers in order to recognize unencrypted connections as well as to be able to identify the involved systems.
  2. Activation of “LDAP channel binding” as well as “LDAP signing” on all devices that use a Windows OS in conjunction with NTS considering the adaptations on the systems that are supervised by NTS.
  3. Monitoring and hyper care phase

 

Should you have any questions or require assistance, then do not hesitate to contact us 24/7/365 as usual on support@nts.eu respectively on +43 316 405455-20.

 

Your NTS
Relax, We Care

Wolfgang Moser
Service Operations Director
25.05.2020

Similar topics

Liebe Kunden und Partner!

 

Lightweight Directory Access Protocol (LDAP) ist ein Netzwerkprotokoll zur Durchführung von Abfragen und Änderungen in einem verteilten Verzeichnisdienst. Die bekannteste und am meisten verbreitete LDAP Implementierung stellt das Microsoft Active Directory dar.

Um eine fehlerlose Funktion des LDAP Protokolls zu ermöglichen, ist es erforderlich, dass alle beteiligten Systeme Daten mittels Port 389 bzw. bei LDAPS (LDAP over TLS) mittels Port 636 austauschen können!

Microsoft bereitet aktuell für das zweite Halbjahr 2020 ein Sicherheitsupdate auf Ihren Domaincontrollern vor, welches den Active Directory Dienst von LDAP auf LDAPS umstellen wird und somit das Ende der unverschlüsselten LDAP-Verbindungen bedeutet. Ziel ist es hierbei Schwachstellen in der Implementierung des Active Directoy Dienstes zu bekämpfen, um z.B. gegen sogenannte „Man-in-the-Middle“ Attacken geschützt zu sein, bei welchem sich Angreifer potentiell Zugriff auf Ihre Systeme verschaffen könnten!

Ganz im Sinne von „Relax, We Care“ würden wir Sie deshalb gerne jetzt schon proaktiv über diese geplante Änderung informieren, Ihnen bei der Überprüfung und Umstellung Ihrer Systeme zur Seite stehen und so einen uneingeschränkten Betrieb gewährleisten.

 

Anbei Beispiele von betroffenen Systemen und Services aus dem NTS Portfolio:

  • Unified Communications Services und Produkte wie z.B. Cisco Jabber, Cisco Expressway, Cisco Meeting Server, Cisco Unified Communications Manager, Cisco Callmanager, NTW Server, Fax Server, Unity Server
  • Security Services und Produkte mit Anbindung in die Active Directory mittels LDAP wie z.B. Cisco Identity Service Engine (ISE), Cisco Email und Web Security Appliance (ESA, WSA)
  • Firewalls und Services mit direkter Anbindung an die Active Directory zur User Abfrage wie z.B Cisco Apdative Security Appliance (ASA), Cisco Firepower, Cisco Anyconnect
  • VMWare VCenter mit Verbindung in die Active Directory
  • Splunk

 

Wichtig zu erwähnen wäre hierbei, dass alle Anwendungen und Systeme, die zum Zeitpunkt des Patches noch nicht auf LDAPS umgestellt wurden, keine Verbindung mehr in die Active Directory mittels LDAP aufbauen können. Somit kann es zu einer Einschränkung in der Verfügbarkeit Ihrer Anwendungen kommen, die von der Verbindung in die Active Directory abhängig sind.

Deshalb wären die von NTS empfohlenen Maßnahmen, dass vor der Veröffentlichung des Patches in der zweiten Jahreshälfte 2020 alle betroffenen Anwendungen und Systeme ermittelt werden und von LDAP auf LDAPS umgestellt werden.

Zusätzlich zu obigen Sicherheitsupdate wurde ein neues Update im März seitens Microsoft released, welches zusätzliche Audit Events und Gruppenrichtlinien implementiert, um hier (einerseits) für eine optimale Vorbereitung Sorgen zu können und alternativ die Möglichkeit implementiert per Registry Eintrag bzw. per Gruppenrichtlinie die Änderung des Patches zu überschreiben, falls eine Umstellung auf LDAPS nicht möglich ist.

 

Zusammengefasst empfiehlt NTS folgende Maßnahmen um Sicherzustellen, dass alle Anwendungen auch nach dem Patch mit dem Active Directory kommunizieren zu können:

  1. Aktivierung und Aufzeichnung der Audit Events aus dem März 2020 Update auf den Domain Controllern, um unverschlüsselte Verbindungen zu erkennen sowie die beteiligten Systeme identifizieren zu können.
  2. In Abstimmung mit NTS unter Berücksichtigung der Anpassungen auf den von NTS betreuten Systemen, Aktivierung von „LDAP channel binding„, sowie „LDAP signing“ auf Geräten, welche ein Windows OS verwenden.
  3. Monitoring und Hypercare Phase

 

Sollten Sie Fragen haben oder Hilfe benötigen, so stehen wir Ihnen wie gewohnt 24/7/365 unter support@nts.eu bzw. +43 316 405455-20 gerne zur Verfügung.

 

Ihre NTS
Relax, We Care