DIGITAL DIAGNOSIS AND ELECTRONIC TEMPERATURE CHARTS

In 1996, the Styrian Hospitals Limited Liability Company (abbreviated KAGes for Steiermärkische Krankenanstaltengesellschaft m.b.H.) was one of the first customers that counted on the innovative power and the reliable know-how of NTS. This trust survives until now.

Fast first-aid support by means of digital conferences.
Karl Kocever, Head of IT infrastructure and administrative systems, KAGes.

During the ongoing operation, KAGes cannot particularly do without collaboration solutions, besides having a stable network technology and data center support. The decision to rely on technology standards by Cisco proves itself each day. It facilitates the cooperation across the various locations and fosters efficient patient-care – especially during the acute initial diagnosis when every second counts.

A conversation with Karl Kocever, Head of IT infrastructure and administrative systems, KAGes, about digital experiences and right decisions.

Together with NTS a Cisco video conferencing system was introduced as early as 2011. Could you tell us about the experiences with it and what has happened since?

Karl Kocever: Back then we started with the so-called “tumor conferences”, where we compared and interpreted medical reports of cancer patients or X-ray images via video conferences within KAGes. Up to this day, it helped our specialists to quickly discuss complex cases independent of the location and within a relatively small amount of time. To give an example, patients in Bad Aussee with a suspected stroke will currently receive their first diagnosis via video conference from a specialist based in Knittelfeld. Thus, a rapid emergency treatment is possible at a distance and steps like a helicopter transfer may be initiated without further delay. An accident with traumatic brain injury is a similar situation. The computer tomography is analyzed and an emergency service or a patient transporter will be organized. Our digital possibilities cover all requirements and range all the way to observations of skin diseases. All this happens in our many locations without travel efforts and without loss of time.

“No moaning is enough praise”, is a famous saying amongst IT people. However, NTS can gladly be praised!

Karl Kocever, Head of IT infrastructure and administrative systems, KAGes

How has the cooperation of the 18,000 employees of KAGes changed in recent times?

Karl Kocever: We adapted all meetings from board meetings to specialist meetings in the clinical areas to Cisco Webex meetings. The medical direction is constantly conferring with approximately 70 department heads in 11 hospitals on 20 locations. Univ. Prof. Dr. Karlheinz Tscheliessnigg held regular meetings with the crisis team of the province, but we also completely converted all our trainings. Our experts train extensively by means of Webex instead of having the organizational burden of large auditoriums. We generally benefit from the digitalization and so does the entire health care of the province. As an example, one can mention the “electronic temperature chart” that will completely replace the hand-written records and the medical records on paper that report the conditions and the medical values of our patients.

Which decisions by the IT have proved themselves?

Karl Kocever: We were always relying on computing standards and this approach was repeatedly affirmed when compared to other institutions. It pays off in all respects to bet on a uniform and innovative system when dealing with support, maintenance, quality, and security. We are using the conference system by Cisco, a solution for telephony and a well thought out network architecture in the data center and in the LAN. All this is always stable, scalable and secure thanks to the help of NTS. The longstanding NTS partnership proves itself naturally. We are able to master the challenges for our internal IT together and this is noticed on the small “temperature charts” of problems in the system and the feedback from our users.

What are your wishes for NTS for their 25th anniversary this year and what advice do you give them for the future?

Karl Kocever: All the best, of course! We hope for a further good cooperation and may NTS remain a reliable partner.

Facts KAGes

  • Styrian Hospitals Limited Liability Company (abbreviated KAGes for Steiermärkische Krankenanstaltengesellschaft m.b.H.) – wholly owned by the province of Styria.
  • 11 regional hospitals
  • 20 locations
  • 18,000 employees

NTS products that are used:

  • LAN
  • DC switching
  • Webex meetings
  • Webex teams
  • Cisco videoconferencing

Photo credits: photoworkers.at/provided

Franz Lammer
Head of Marketing & Communication
22.07.2020

Similar topics

Digitale Diagnosen und elektronische Fieberkurven

Als einer der ersten Kunden im Jahr 1996 setzte die Steiermärkische Krankenanstaltengesellschaft m. b. H. (KAGes) auf die Innovationskraft und das verlässliche Know-how von NTS. Und dieses Vertrauen besteht bis heute.

Rasche Erstversorgung durch digitale Konferenzen
Karl Kocever, Leiter IT-Infrastruktur und Administrative Systeme, KAGes

Neben einer stabilen Netzwerktechnologie und der Betreuung des Rechenzentrums sind es vor allem die Collaboration-Lösungen, die bei der KAGes im laufenden Betrieb nicht mehr wegzudenken sind. Die Entscheidung dabei auf Technologie-Standards von Cisco zu setzen, bewährt sich tagtäglich, erleichtert die Zusammenarbeit über unterschiedlichen Standorte und sorgt für eine effiziente Patientenbetreuung – gerade in der akuten Erstdiagnose, wo sehr oft jede Sekunde zählt.

Ein Gespräch mit Karl Kocever, Leiter IT-Infrastruktur und Administrative Systeme, KAGes, über digitale Erfahrungen und richtige Entscheidungen.

Schon 2011 wurde gemeinsam mit NTS ein Cisco-Videokonferenzsystem eingeführt. Erzählen Sie uns doch von den Erfahrungen damit und was sich seither getan hat.

Karl Kocever: Damals haben wir mit den sogenannten „Tumorkonferenzen“ begonnen, wo wir innerhalb der KAGes Befunde von Krebspatienten, oder Röntgenbilder per Videokonferenz verglichen und bewertet haben. Unsere Spezialisten können so bis heute schnell und rasch, mit einer örtlichen Unabhängigkeit und geringem zeitliche Aufwand, komplexe Fälle diskutieren. Zur Zeit werden beispielsweise Patienten in Bad Aussee, mit Verdacht auf einen Schlaganfall, prompt mit einem Facharzt in Knittelfeld per Videokonferenz, erstdiagnostiziert. So wird, ohne Zeitverlust, rasche Erstversorgung auch auf Distanz möglich und Maßnahmen, wie ein nötiger Hubschraubereinsatz, eingeleitet. Ähnlich bei einem Unfall mit Schädelhirntrauma. Die Computertomographie wird analysiert und ein Notarzteinsatz oder Patiententransport organisiert. Diese digitalen Möglichkeiten decken alle Anforderungen ab und gehen bis zur Beobachtung von Hauterkrankungen. Und das eben bei unseren vielen Standorten ohne Anreiseaufwand und Zeitverlust.

„Nix gschimpft ist genug gelobt“, wie man unter ITlern gerne sagt. NTS kann man dafür aber gerne loben!

Karl Kocever, Leiter IT-Infrastruktur und Administrative Systeme, KAGes

Inwiefern hat sich die Zusammenarbeit der 18.000 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter der KAGes in letzter Zeit verändert?

Karl Kocever: Wir haben sämtliche Meetings auf Cisco Webex umgestellt, von Vorstandssitzungen bis hin zu fachlichen Besprechungen im klinischen Bereich. Unsere ärztliche Leitung konferiert ständig mit rund 70 AbteilungsleiterInnen in 11 Krankenhäusern an 20 Standorten. Univ. Prof. Dr. Karlheinz Tscheliessnigg tagte regelmäßig mit dem Krisenstab des Landes aber auch unsere Schulungen haben wir komplett umgestellt. Statt dem organisatorischen Aufwand in großen Hörsälen schulen wir unsere Experten umfangreich per Webex. Generell profitieren wir, und somit die gesamte Gesundheitsversorgung des Landes, von der Digitalisierung. Als Beispiel wäre hier die „Elektronische Fieberkurve“ zu nennen, die handschriftliche Aufzeichnungen und Papier-Befunde zum Zustand und den Werten unserer Patienten vollkommen ersetzen wird.

Welche Entscheidungen seitens der IT haben sich bewährt?

Karl Kocever: Wir haben immer auf EDV-Standards gesetzt und der Vergleich mit anderen Institutionen bestätigt diese Vorgehensweise immer wieder. Hinsichtlich der Betreuung, Wartung, Qualität und Sicherheit zahlt es sich in allen Belangen aus, auf ein einheitliches und innovatives System zu setzen. Wir haben das Konferenzsystem von Cisco im Einsatz, eine Lösung für Telefonie und im Rechenzentrum und im LAN eine durchdachte Netzwerkarchitektur – mit Hilfe von NTS immer stabil, skalierbar und sicher.
Natürlich bewährt sich auch die langjährige NTS-Partnerschaft. Gemeinsam können wir die Herausforderungen an unsere interne IT meistern und das merkt man auch an der kleinen „Fieberkurve“ an Problemen im System und Rückmeldungen unserer User.

Was wünschen Sie NTS zum heurigen 25-jährigen Bestehen und welchen Tipp geben Sie für die Zukunft?

Karl Kocever: Alles Gute natürlich! Wir hoffen auf weiterhin gute Zusammenarbeit und möge die NTS ein verlässlicher Partner bleiben.

Fakten KAGes

  • Steiermärkische Krankenanstaltengesellschaft m. b. H. (KAGes) – 100% im Eigentum des Landes Steiermark
  • 11 Landeskrankenhäuser
  • 20 Standorte
  • 18.000 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter

Produkte von NTS im Einsatz:

  • LAN
  • DC Switching
  • Webex Meetings
  • Webex Teams
  • Cisco Videoconferencing

Fotocredits: photoworkers.at/bereitgestellt

Franz Lammer
Head of Marketing & Communication
am 09.07.2020

Zum Thema