THE INTELLIGENT AND DIGITAL WORKPLACE BY NTS

The advancing digitalization facilitates a linked, efficient and mobile working world. Agile modes of working, flexible working places and new technologies influence the daily working routine and the collaboration in teams today. The workplace of the future in the spirit of ”the work is where I want it to be” will pose a new challenge for the IT as well as ultimately for the management of a business.

 

NEW WAYS OF WORKING SUCH AS DESK SHARING REQUIRE NEW WORKSPACES! ARE YOU PREPARED?

Some of these developments cannot be stopped any more, as they are caused for example, by technological progress, social respectively legal framework (keyword COVID-19), new ways of working and environmental aspects (video conferences instead of travelling by car).

Flexible and at the same time mobile communication possibilities are a result of the digital transformation. Conventional phone calls are for instance, complemented respectively by the increasing substitution of video and web conferences and meetings are conducted in virtual rooms respectively, networks.

In order to accompany our customer during this transition, we would like to demonstrate what is required for a secure and efficient home office workplace. We have identified fundamental building blocks for inventory taking (as shown in the chart below) as the requirements are not only different from person to person, but also dependent on the circumstances in the individual homes:

HOW DO YOU LIKE TO WORK FROM HOME?

The simplest solutions are phone calls and meetings from your laptop with a headset. However, many of us will know the problems – the utilization of the laptop increases enormously with meetings, the angle of the integrated camera makes a professional appearance more difficult and you always have to pay attention to the background. Therefore, we included the possibility to conduct professional video conferences in our home office solutions as an option. Thanks to Cisco Desk Pro it is possible to optionally hide the background to guarantee an appearance that conforms to the data protection regulations and that allows you to easily use the white board functions. Thus, professional meetings can be conducted – and this even on a 27-inch monitor with a resolution of 4k! Each private laptop user will be happy about the low utilization 😉. The ideal home office package can still be completed with a desk phone. Thus, the difference to a working place in the company almost completely disappears.

HOW GOOD IS YOUR CONNECTION IN THE HOME OFFICE?

It is not only the collaboration feature that is important, as the connectivity is a central component of a suitable solution as well. If the connectivity is designed redundantly, it is possible to counteract provider failures. It depends on the reception at the home office workplace or on the existing connections which option will be proposed at the end. Based on this, a suitable firewall will be chosen.

WHAT HAPPENS IN THE COMPANY?

In order to complement the whole picture in a meaningful way, the company has to think it through centrally. Depending on the amount of home workers, the “VPN concentrator” (i.e. a firewall) is designed for the company. The concentrator takes care of a secure data connection between the company and the home offices.

Finally

Now it all depends on the right configuration. Here, we gladly offer our assistance, too. It can for instance be assured with 802.1x that only authorized devices are able to connect with the company network. Better safe than sorry.

We additionally protect all devices of the home office solution with NTS Basic, so that you don’t have to worry when something breaks.

We gladly support you during your journey into the new working environment. If you want to know which package is attractive, get in touch with us!

Relax, We Care

Cisco Gold Partner
Michaela Stöckelmayr
Product Manager
23.09.2020

Similar topics

Der intelligente und digitale Arbeitsplatz von NTS

Die fortschreitende Digitalisierung ermöglicht eine vernetzte, effiziente und mobile Arbeitswelt. Agile Arbeitsformen, flexible Arbeitsplätze und neue Technologien beeinflussen schon jetzt den Arbeitsalltag und die Zusammenarbeit in Teams. Der zukünftige Arbeitsplatz im Sinne von „Die Arbeit ist dort, wo ich will“ stellt die IT und in letzter Konsequenz auch die Geschäftsführung vor neue Herausforderungen.

 

Denn, neue Arbeitsweisen, wie beispielsweise Desk Sharing, erfordern neue Arbeitsplätze! Sind Sie schon vorbereitet?

Viele dieser Entwicklungen sind nicht mehr aufzuhalten, sei es beispielsweise durch den technologischen Fortschritt, gesellschaftliche, bzw. gesetzliche Rahmenbedingungen (Stichwort COVID-19), neue Arbeitsweisen und Umweltaspekte (Videokonferenzen statt Autofahrten).

Durch die digitale Transformation entstehen flexible und gleichzeitig mobile Möglichkeiten der Kommunikation. Beispielsweise werden klassische Telefonate durch Video- und Webkonferenzen ergänzt, bzw. mehr und mehr davon abgelöst und Meetings in virtuellen Räumen bzw. Netzwerken abgehalten.

Um unsere Kunden bei diesem Wandel zu begleiten, möchten wir zeigen, was für einen sicheren und effizienten Home Office Arbeitsplatz notwendig ist. Da sich die Anforderungen nicht nur von Person zu Person unterscheiden, sondern auch von den Gegebenheiten im eigenen Heim, haben wir grundlegende Bausteine zur Bestandsaufnahme, wie in der folgenden Grafik, identifiziert:

Wie möchten Sie zu Hause arbeiten?

Die einfachste Möglichkeit sind Telefonate und Meetings über Ihren Laptop und ein Headset. Allerdings werden viele von uns folgende Problematik kennen – die Auslastung am Laptop steigt mit Meetings enorm und der Winkel der integrierten Kamera macht einen professionellen Auftritt zusätzlich schwierig, bzw. muss man ständig auf den Hintergrund achten. Daher haben wir in unseren Home Office Lösungen optional die Möglichkeit der Abhaltung professioneller Videokonferenzen inkludiert. Mit der Cisco Desk Pro ist es möglich, durch die mögliche Ausblendung des Hintergrunds, nicht nur einen datenschutzkonformen Auftritt zu sichern, sondern komfortabel Whiteboardingfunktionen zu nutzen und dementsprechend professionelle Meetings durchführen  – und das auf dem 27 Zoll Monitor mit 4k Auflösung! Jeder persönliche Laptop wird sich über die geringe Last freuen 😉 Abrunden lässt sich das perfekte Home Office Paket noch mit einem Deskphone – so verschwindet der Unterschied zum Arbeitsplatz in der Firma fast komplett.

Wie gut ist Ihre Anbindung im Home Office?

Nicht nur die Collaborationausstattung ist wichtig, auch die Anbindung ist zentraler Bestandteil einer passenden Lösung. Wird diese beispielsweise redundant ausgelegt, kann man möglichen Providerausfällen entgegenwirken. Welche Möglichkeit letztlich vorgeschlagen bzw. gewünscht wird, hängt vom Empfang direkt am Home Office Arbeitsplatz ab oder von den bestehenden Anbindungen. Basierend darauf, wird die passende Firewall gewählt.

Was passiert im Unternehmen?

Um das ganze sinnvoll abzurunden und abzusichern, muss sich auch das Unternehmen zentral etwas überlegen. Je nach Anzahl der Home Worker wird der „VPN Concentrator“ (dh. eine Firewall) im Unternehmen ausgelegt. Dieser sorgt für eine sichere Datenverbindung zwischen dem  Unternehmen und den Home Offices.

Finally

Jetzt kommt es noch auf die richtige Konfiguration an. Dabei unterstützten wir auch gerne. Beispielsweise kann mit 802.1x sichergestellt werden, dass sich nur autorisierte Geräte mit dem Unternehmensnetz verbinden können. Sicher ist sicher.

Damit sie sich keine Sorgen machen müssen, wenn etwas kaputt geht, sichern wir alle Geräte der Home Office Solution mit NTS Basic ab.

Wir unterstützen Sie gerne bei Ihrer Reise in die neue Arbeitswelt. Wenn Sie wissen möchten, welches Paket für Sie spannend wäre, melden Sie sich bei uns!

Relax, We Care

Cisco Gold Partner